Whole Wheat Chocolate Avocado Muffins

Whole Wheat Chocolate Avocado Muffins

I did not start to eat avocados on a regular basis until I was about 30 years old.  A few years ago I bought some that were on sale in hopes that my children would enjoy them and I likely bought too many and I was not able to use them fast enough.  Then I remembered someone told me about Chocolate Avocado Muffins. I found a recipe and made my first batch with avocados slightly passed their prime.  I do not even remember where the original recipe came from, but I have spent that last 4 years perfecting the recipe to be whole wheat.  The combination of using avocado to add more healthy fats and fiber and the higher nutrient whole wheat flour makes these provide more nutrition than most muffins.  The ingredients can also be adjusted as I have noted below to include other items.  My kids love them and so do their friends when they try them.  Many have asked for the recipe and now here it is.  Enjoy!

Whole Wheat Chocolate Avocado Muffins

¼ cup oil+ 2 tablespoons

1 avocado

5 teaspoons cocoa powder (prefer to either use all dark cocoa or a mix)

6 teaspoons white sugar

2 cups white whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

½ cup packed brown sugar (have used honey and date paste in place of the sugar)

2 large eggs, at room temperature

2/3 cup buttermilk (You can make your own buttermilk with regular milk and a few teaspoons of vinegar or lemon juice, I have also used soy milk and nut milks with this recipe).

¼ cup plain yogurt (I have also used applesauce rather than yogurt. I find that yogurt or applesauce adds extra moisture to the muffins, which is needed when you use whole wheat).

½ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips.

  • pre-heat oven to 350. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners.
  • With a hand mixer blend together the oil, avocado, cocoa, and white sugar until smooth.
  • Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a separate bowl.
  • In the chocolate mixture, mix in brown sugar, eggs, milk, yogurt, and vanilla. Mix until well blended.
  • Add the flour mixture to the chocolate mixture all at once, folding with spatula until no flour is visible. Fold in the remaining chocolate chips.

chocolate batteredited

  • Divide the muffin batter into 12 muffin cups and bake for 18-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean. Remove from oven and allow to cool for 5 minutes before removing from pan.
  • Store in airtight container for up to 5 days or freeze up to 1 month.

Enjoy!

muffinsedited

 

Leave a Reply

